A Little Change Doesn’t Hurt

HAPPY 2023!!

Wishing everyone an amazing year ahead. Realistically, the year ahead may be difficult for some and whatever the trials, I hope that you will come out stronger.

2022 saw me letting go of my dream of becoming a perfumer, feeling lost and finding a new direction to go. Please do not judge me for giving up on a fragrance career; remember there are things you do not know. Sometimes you can give all you have but fate denies you your desires for reasons you will only see in the future.

Do not fear – I’m not abandoning my blog. I adore perfumes too much not to share my love for it with the world. However, I hope you will forgive me for stepping back for a couple of months, perhaps more. I admittedly have not been writing for some time to concentrate on my life. I want to give you posts I am proud of too so I want to take this time to write them nicely.

Sometimes, things need to change and evolve. When I return, I intend to bring you slightly different Thoughts posts. Over the years, it has become tiresome to write lackluster introductions to perfumes, especially when I feel like I’m regurgitating the same old phrases for each perfume. For example, the perfume was said to be inspired by the bold, confident girl, and yes it can be a good source of inspiration but it gets difficult finding new ways to describe it. Sometimes I’m left with a review that doesn’t tie back to the inspiration, because I do not feel the same. Yes, it’s very subjective but I think it’s better to cut out the gratuitous mentions of the inspiration or story behind it, especially when I’m convinced the motive for creating the fragrance was solely to put a profitable, generic crowd-pleaser on shop shelves. Besides, you can read the descriptions from the brands’ websites.

In saying that, I do not believe you always need an exciting story or brief for perfumes or that we should ban the creation of trendy, generic fragrances. I understand the need for profits. Sometimes you have to do what you have to to keep your business afloat. And so, unless there’s a lovely story to go with the fragrance, I will dive straight into describing its odor profile / notes and writing my reflections in future Thoughts posts.

Before I leave, I wanted to give you a ginormous thank you. When I began Eau de Tati, it was just a digital portfolio I was trying to create for my past’s future. Imagine my surprise the first time someone popped by the blog. After some time, and several views later, I thought let’s scrap portfolio idea and make it a blog because I liked the more informal feeling it had. I’m grateful for every one of you for spending minutes of your precious life reading my blog posts. Once again, thank you!

Have a wonderful and lovely year ahead. See you soon.

Enjoy this photo of a brown butterfly in the meantime.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.